Posted in Reflections

3: Spring in the South

Anyone who lives in the South knows what I’m about to say is true…

If you want to experience all 4 seasons in one day, come to the South! Ha. That should be our motto.

But I’m serious. Spring in the South is no joke.

I never knew the struggle until I had kids. Trying to dress them for school in and of itself is an experience. When it’s in the 30s prior to 7am, but closer to the 80s when they get home from school around 3pm…we have a problem. Oh, “just dress them in layers!” Pfft. A 4 year old doesn’t quite understand layers and a 10 year old hates them.

Story of my life.

A couple of weeks ago we had unseasonably warm 80 degree weather…followed by snow and frost! Go on and laugh. This little bit of snow made EVERYONE happy. Lol

Of course it was just a dusting, but we made a few snowballs and froze our fingers off. And no, schools didn’t shut down. It started on Saturday night and was all gone by Sunday night. Boo-hiss.

What can I say? I’m lovable. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰

So why am I taking the time out of my busy day to talk about the South? Well, because anyone who knows Southerners, knows we’re uncharacteristically proud of it. I don’t know why. It could be our southern twang, our slower pace at life, or maybe we’re just inbreed ingoramouses (just kidding! I’m pretty intelligent, myself 😜). Despite the negative connotations connected to us (or is it Texas?), the South is a pretty cool place.

I live in South Carolina. Where the pollen rides in on waves of brisk wind starting late February.

Where you dress in heavy winter coats and gloves in the morning, then switch to shorts and tanks in the afternoon.

Where flip flops are the state shoe, year-around.

Where Lula Roe leggings are both fashionable AND expensive…and every mom owns a couple hundred pair (‘cept me, of course!).

And where Spring is just a word. The weather we experience ranges from Ice Age to a cool desert day. Where flowers and produce blossom early, then die after a deep freeze.

We love it and hate it. It’s the “calm” before Hell on Earth lands during the Summer. If a Southerner has told you they’ve sweated in places they didn’t know they could sweat, they’re telling you the truth.

It’s brutal and it’s beautiful. So colorful. So vibrant…if you can see past your watering eyes.

But I’ve travelled some and lived in a few different places, and I can’t deny that Spring in the South is oneofakind.

Pinks, purples, and green, oh my! Indecisive weather. Pollen. And bugs.

Bugs galore! 😱

So if you’re brave enough and strong enough to battle your allergies (and creepy crawlies), visiting the South during the season of rebirth is more than worth it. 

Leave a Reply

